2006/7 Ashes Series

Australia v England 2006/7 Ashes Test Series

Cricket Australia logo

November 23-27 1st Test, Brisbane

December 1-5 2nd Test, Adelaide

December 14-18 3rd Test, Perth

December 26-30 4th Test, Melbourne

January 2-6 5th Test, Sydney

ECB logo

After the excitement of the 2005 Ashes series in England, can this series live up to expectations? England have struggled with injuries and form since the historic Ashes victory of 2005. Australia will be keen to avenge the defeat which saw them hand back the famous urn after 18 years. Can the young English lions do it again?

The last time England retained the Ashes in Australia was under Mike Gatting back in 1986/87. The pitches in Australia are very different to those in England and the crowds are notoriously hostile. It all adds up to an interesting and exciting series.

Even without Michael Vaughan and Simon Jones from the Ashes winning side of 2005, England will travel to Australia with a sense of optimism. Whilst it is fair to say that they haven’t performed anywhere near as well as they did in the summer of 2005, they are still a strong side with a number of match winners including Kevin Pietersen, Steve Harmison and, of course, the skipper Andrew Flintoff.

Australia are a team that you can never write off. Even though Old Man McGrath has been out of cricket for a long time, he is still the most consistent fast bowler on the planet and you can bet that he will be doing everything to get fit and match ready for November 23. Let’s not forget the Pie Eater – SK Warne – quite simply the best player of his generation. For a great number of the Aussies, this will be their final assault on the Ashes and you can guarantee that they will not want to be beaten on home soil in their swansong.

The excitement leading up to the 2005 Ashes series in England was immense. England believed they had a side capable of winning the Ashes and after 5 breathtaking Test matches it proved to be the case. Winning the Ashes is one thing. Retaining them is something altogether different.

This promises to be the Ashes series to beat all other Ashes series. As WG Grace was heard to say on countless occasions during the summer of 2005…


Andrew Flintoff celebrates the 2005 Ashes victory

England Squad : Andrew Flintoff (captain, Lancashire, 62 Tests), Andrew Strauss (Middlesex, 31 Tests), Marcus Trescothick (Somerset, 76 Tests), Alastair Cook (Essex, 9 Tests), Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire, 18 Tests), Ian Bell (Warwickshire, 18 Tests), Paul Collingwood (Durham, 15 Tests), Chris Read (Nottinghamshire, 13 Tests), Sajid Mahmood (Lancashire, 5 Tests), Steve Harmison (Durham, 45 Tests), Matthew Hoggard (Yorkshire, 58 Tests), Monty Panesar (Northants, 10 Tests), Geraint Jones (Kent, 31 Tests), Ashley Giles (Warwickshire, 52 Tests), James Anderson (Lancashire, 13 Tests), Liam Plunkett (Durham, 6 Tests).

Be Sociable, Share!

Cricket Kit